PhD CouncilErasmus Graduate School of Social Sciences and the Humanities

The PhD Council is a platform by and for PhDs that are part of the Graduate School. The Council was founded on the premise that the opinions, questions, issues, and thoughts of each of its members merit being heard and discussed. To this end each participating department in the Graduate School has a seat in the Council by means of one representative.

It is the council's task to advice the Dean of the Graduate School on all matters that affect doctoral education. So if you have a question, problem or good idea, do not hesitate to contact one of them; every idea and initiative is more than welcome!


Members 2017-2018

Chair: Pieter van den Heede (History)
Vice chair: Vicky Ariyanti (Institute for Housing and Urban Development Studies)

Erasmus School of History, Culture and Communication (ESHCC)

Qian Huang (Department of Media and Communication)

Pieter van den Heede (Department of History)

Julian Schaap (Department of Arts and Culture Studies)

Erasmus School of Social and Behavioural Sciences (ESSB)

Ilse Verveer (Department of Psychology, Education and Child studies)

Rianne Warsen (Department of Public Administration and Sociology)

Erasmus University College (EUC)

Faculty of Philosophy (FW)

James Grayot (Theoretical Philosophy)

Institute for Housing and Urban Development (IHS)

Vicky Ariyanti (Urban Development and Governance)

International Institute of Social Studies (ISS)

Johan Spamer (Development Studies)